We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Eastbourne & Willingdon Lib Dems

  • Article: Oct 1, 2017

    Please sign our petition to save these vital, local services!


  • Article: Sep 13, 2017
    By Stephen Lloyd MP

    First of what I think are going to be an awful lot of late votes this parliamentary session!

    Ultimately the government won by 36 votes.

    I voted against because I think it's a bad Bill and will give the executive enormous power. It will allow ministers to change things where they think it is "appropriate", in theory that makes their decisions even exempt to proper legal challenge.

  • library
    Article: Sep 13, 2017

    East Sussex County Co uncil have taken the unprecedented step of proposing the closure of seven libraries in East Sussex. Langney library is sadly one of the proposed libraries under consideration for closure.

    Despite the lack of resources within the area and the high number of registered users of the library, the Conservative led County Council has forged ahead in what it sees as an effort to cut costs. Fortunately Langney County Councillor Alan Shuttleworth has pledged to fight the closure.

  • Article: Sep 11, 2017

    Politicians wear it pink for breast cancer fundraiser

    Eastbourne MP Stephen Lloyd, put on a pink rosette, to show his support to Breast Cancer Now's flagship fundraiser, wear it pink, which will see thousands of people across the UK adding a splash of pink to their outfits on Friday 20 October as well as raise vital funds for breast cancer research.

  • Article: Sep 8, 2017
    By Stephen Lloyd MP

    Birling Gap Noxious Haze:

    Locally, many of you will know that I have been continuing to chase the statutory authorities over the chemical haze which struck Birling Gap and parts of Eastbourne last Sunday week. What was it and where did it come from?

    It appears we still do not know who the culprit was. The Maritime and Coastguard Agency retain the on-sea lead and they continue to narrow it down from the 150+ vessels who were in the region at the time.

  • Article: Sep 8, 2017
    By Stephen Lloyd MP

    I've hit the ground running in Westminster this week on a number of national issues which also have a profound impact locally. One was the handing in of a Bill I co-sponsored on behalf of WASPi women.

    The other was to do with the governments flagship new policy to provide 30 hours free childcare a week for children between the ages of 3 and 4. This is a good initiative and one I'm supportive of. I was concerned though to receive some representation from a number of child-minders over the summer who said that whilst they supported the programme, they had concerns about the levels of funding provided.

..... .....